“Think big..start small..move fast.”

“Think big…start small…move fast.”
~ Bahram Akradi

I recieved this in an email from Mac Anderson, Founder of of Simple Truths and Successories, Inc., the leader in designing and marketing products for motivation and recognition. He shares this article from ‘Experience Life’, a monthly magazine written by founder, Bahram Akradi: Think Big, Step Lightly. He shares this short excerpt on goals.

“When it comes to accomplishing personal goals, everyone has his or her own style. Some people like to tell the world what they’re determined to achieve; others quietly commit their plans to the pages of journals they’ll never show a soul.

Me? I’ve been known to do a little of both. But I’ve always experienced the most success in following the motto “Think big, start small, move fast.” Here’s why it works for me:

“Think big” invites me to develop an ambitious and expansive enough vision to get excited about what I’m choosing to accomplish. Dull goals, after all, tend to make for dull and uninspired efforts. If I have the vague idea that I want to upgrade my fitness, for example, I set my sights on a concrete outcome – say, improving my triathlon bike time by a hefty percentage. My rule of thumb is this: If I can’t see myself being totally thrilled about the success of the end accomplishment, I don’t set is as a goal.

“Start small” saves me from getting overwhelmed by what I’ve taken on and lets me get started now, with modest daily actions that feel doable. Daily action equates with integrity and determination, in my view. You have to keep asking yourself: Do I really want this thing or not? Each day brings the opportunity to reconfirm your priorities and to move forward by doing something. Even if the action is just a single phone call, a few breaths on the yoga mat, or a swift left turn out of the snack aisle, it’s still a step in the right direction and it builds momentum for more positive action.

“Move fast”
gets me focused on making continual progress and keeps my energy and enthusiasm high. It prevents me from getting so bogged down in my daily actions that I lose sight of the big goal that got me excited in the first place.
“Move fast” also keeps me honest about the kinds of mini-goals I’ll need to accomplish in order to make meaningful headway. Most major goals are marathons, not sprints, so it’s important to pace yourself. But part of pacing yourself is setting challenging (not impossible) interim goals – benchmarks that give you constant feedback about the progress you’re making and that help you recognize where adjustments to your plan might be necessary. Because rapidly correcting errors is an essential part of this whole approach.

As we all know, our goals are critical to self-motivation, and Akradi offers some excellent “food for thought.” He has a plan…do you?

This is one of 50 short chapters that I share in Charging the Human Battery…50 Ways to Motivate Yourself. The stories, the quotes, the ideas are meant to engage the brain and the heart…a pretty good combination! I try my best to create “a-ha moments” that will help you reach your goals and your full potential in life.

To learn more, or to see inside Charging the Human Battery and read a few chapters, cthb-500x500-cropped1

Leave a comment

Filed under guerilla marketing ideas

Leave a Reply

